The Foundation for a Meaningful Life
Kindergarten - Grade 9 in Southborough, MA

Fay's History

As the first junior boarding school in the country, Fay has quite a story to tell.
The story of Fay School is the story of big ideas and big thinkers who believed passionately in the value of education—not just for knowledge in and of itself, but as a process that fosters every child’s intellectual, physical, and emotional growth. Here’s a brief look at some pivotal moments in Fay’s history.

Notable Fay Alumni

Tony Abbott ’49 - Pulitzer-prize nominated author
Ben Aronson ’73 – Urban landscape artist
André Bishop ’62 - Artistic Director, Lincoln Center Theater; winner of 13 Tony awards and 4 Pulitzer prizes
James Blakely ’25 – Actor in early Hollywood and studio executive
Tarah Donoghue Breed ’97 -  Deputy Press Secretary to First Lady Laura Bush
Doug Brown ’79 – National Hockey League right-winger
Suzanne Walker Buck ’86 - Rector, Chatham Hall School
Stephen Chao ’70 -  entrepreneur and media executive, former President of Fox Television, 1992; former President of USA Network, 1998-2001
Victor Chapman ’03 – the first American flying ace to be killed in WWI

Eric Chou '10 - Taiwanese singer, songwriter and actor
Michael D. Coe ’41 - Yale Professor, archeologist, Mesoamerican scholar
Griffin Dunne ’71 - Actor
Hamilton Fish ’00 – member of the U.S. House of Representatives, 1920-1945
Peter Fonda ’54 -  Actor
George Foreman III ’94 – Boxer and Entrepreneur
Topher Grace ’94 – Actor
C. Boyden Gray ’56 – White House Counsel and Ambassador to the European Union
James Houghton ’50 - President of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
Prince Hashim bin Hussein ’96 - Prince of Jordan
Heyward Isham ’40, United States Ambassador to Haiti, 1974-1977
Toby Kimball ’57 – NBA player for the Boston Celtics, San Diego Rockets, Milwaukee Bucks, Kansas City Kings, Philadelphia 76ers and New Orleans Jazz
James Kunen ’62 – journalist, lawyer, writer; editor at People Magazine, Director of Communications at Time Warner; author of The Strawberry Statement
John Leavitt ’82 – Developer of Lycos, the first Internet search engine
David McKean ’72 – Ambassador to Luxembourg
Katie Touhey Moore ’86 – Program Director, International Fund for Animal Welfare
Nicholas Negroponte ’58 - founder and Chairman Emeritus of Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Media Lab

J. Robert Seyffert ’67 – award-winning painter
Robert E. Sherwood ’09 – Four-time Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright
Rae Eun Sun ’94 – Director of Corporate Social Responsibility, Youngone Corporation
Kendall Tucker ’07 - CEO and Founder of Polis, a startup working to improve mobile canvassing and in-person analytics. Named to Forbes’ “30 Under 30” for Law & Policy in 2017
James Jeremiah Wadsworth ’18 – United States Ambassador to the United Nations, 1960-61
Faith Wallace Gadsden ’98 – Founder and Director, the Archimedes Project
Damian Woetzel ’81 – President of The Julliard School; Principal Dancer at New York City Ballet, 1989-2008

Rudi Ying '14 - Chinese professional ice hockey player with HC Kunlun Red Star of the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL). Represented China in the 2022 Winter Olympics.

Efrem Zimbalist, Jr. ’31 – Golden Globe-winning actor
Fabrizio Zangrilli ’88 – Alpinist who has scaled Everest and K2 (among others); featured in K2: Siren of the Himalayas
main number 508-490-8250
admission 508-490-8201